Who We Are


The Staff

Alexander

Arthur J. Alexander, President ~ aalexander@jei.org

Writes on topics such as Japan's civil aviation industry, Japanese technology, economic growth and international economic policy. Dr. Alexander holds a B.S. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; a M.Sc. from the London School of Economics, and a Ph.D. in Economics from Johns Hopkins University .

Recent Reports ~ ~ ~ ~ More About Me

Marc J. Castellano, Government Relations Analyst ~ mcastellano@jei.org

Covers developments in the U.S. congress and government that relates to Japan as well as a range of issues related to Japan and Asia. Mr. Castellano received a B.A. in economics from University of California at Santa Barbara and an M.I.A. in international affairs from Columbia University.

Recent Reports ~ ~ ~ ~ More About Me

Jon Choy, Senior Economist ~ jchoy@jei.org

Specializes in Japanese financial markets, fiscal policy, R&D, intellectual property rights and technology issues. Mr. Choy received a B.A. from Georgetown University and an M.A. in Asian Studies and Economics from Johns Hopkins University.

Recent Reports ~ ~ ~ ~ More About Me

MacKnight

Susan MacKnight, Chief Economist ~ smacknight@jei.org

Covers U.S.-Japan industrial competition, trade negotiations and U.S. trade policy. She also authors the Japan-U.S. Business Report and compiles Japan's Expanding U.S. Manufacturing Presence. Ms. MacKnight holds an A.B. from Oberlin College and did course work for a Ph.D. in economics.

Recent Reports ~ ~ ~ ~ More About Me

Ostrom

Douglas Ostrom, Senior Economist ~ dostrom@jei.org

Focuses on Japanese macroeconomic developments, trade and industrial organization. Dr. Ostrom received a B.A. from University of Washington and a M.A. and Ph.D. in Economics from University of Michigan.

Recent Reports ~ ~ ~ ~ More About Me

Barbara Wanner, Senior Political Analyst and JEI Update Editor ~ bwanner@jei.org

Writes on Japanese domestic politics, defense policy and foreign relations. Editor of the recently discontinued Japan Economic Survey, she now handles JEI's outreach affairs including the institute's latest publication, JEI Update. Ms. Wanner received a B.A. from Bucknell University and a M.A. in Political Science from Columbia University.

Recent Reports ~ ~ ~ ~ More About Me

Takahashi

Hiroyuki Takahashi, Visiting Economist ~ htakahashi@jei.org

Posted to JEI from Keidanren (Japan Federation of Economic Organizations), one of Japan's top business groups, Mr. Takahashi writes occasionally on Japan's business structure and organization. He received a B.A. in Economics from Hitotsubashi University in Tokyo, an M.S. from Tokyo Institute of Technology and an M.B.A. from Auburn University.

Recent Reports ~ ~ ~ ~ More About Me

Cinda Berry, Editor ~ cberry@jei.org

Edits all JEI publications as well assist with the creation of the Japan-U.S. Business Report.

More About Me

Kobayashi

Romi Kobayashi, Subscription Manager ~ rkobayashi@jei.org

Handles all subscription matters for JEI publications, as well as being executive secretary.

More About Me

Jeanette Voss, Staff Assistant ~ jvoss@jei.org

Assists in the production of JEI Report and the Japan-U.S. Business Report, as well as managing JEI's library and information requests from the public.

More About Me

Lawrence Allen, Production Supervisor ~ lallen@jei.org

Handles all aspects of printing and mailing JEI publications. Mr. Allen has been with JEI for more than 25 years.

More About Me

Carlin

Masako Carlin, Research Assistant, Japan-U.S. Business Report ~ mcarlin@jei.org

Reviews Japanese-language publications for bilateral business developments and prepares initial summaries for the Japan-U.S. Business Report.

More About Me
Top aaaa About JEIaaaa Home  aaaa with thanks to: